CFS/ME & Fibro · Otherwise Life

Disability: What Does It Take To Be Believed?

I’ve been wondering for a week or so what blog post I should do next, because it’s been a while and there’s been stuff going on that’s really taken the energy out of me. I suppose I should start with, yes, I’m still here. As with anything that takes more energy from me than I would like, it’s meant that I’ve had to cut off certain things, like social media, in order not to drain myself too much so I can concentrate on what is most necessary.

So I suppose the merry news is that the government have decided that I’m not disabled enough for the money I get. I’ve been getting DLA (Disability Living Allowance) and now that’s changed to PIP (Personal Independence Payment). I had my PIP assessment in February, and I thought that went really well. Well that all changed when I got the decision notice. I have appealed, but no, I’m not getting any more from them. This has meant having help going through my finances to see if it will be possible to live on the money I will get. It will be a tight squeeze to say the least. It does make me wonder what it takes to be believed that my illnesses (CFS and Fibromyalgia) mean that I am unable to work. In all honesty, who would want to employ someone that cannot concentrate for long without getting brain fog and confusion, and whose body would need days of rest and recuperation after not even one day because of the pain and fatigue it would cause? Because the way things are going, I guess they think we’re are all suddenly say that we can work so they don’t have to give us anything. Unfortunately, and in their rather short-sightedness, it will only increase poverty in this country, because miracles like that just don’t happen in this world (unless, of course, they’ve discovered a magic pill that can cure all chronic illnesses and disabilities).

I could go on about this, but I really don’t have the energy. So I’ll leave you with a blog post I found from the Scope online community. This lady puts it so much better than I could describe.

I’m fed up of having to perform my disability

One thought on “Disability: What Does It Take To Be Believed?

  1. On 16 May 2016 19:31, “Sleeping on the Edge of Sleep” wrote:

    > Charlotte Clark posted: “I’ve been wondering for a week or so what blog > post I should do next, because it’s been a while and there’s been stuff > going on that’s really taken the energy out of me. I suppose I should start > with, yes, I’m still here. As with anything that takes more ” >

Comments are closed.