Otherwise Life

Recipe: Lemon Cheesecakes the Easy Way

When I get the chance, and the energy, I like cooking meals, cakes and other things. This doesn’t happen as often as I’d like it, due to having a chronic illness. As things have worsened, I now look for easy ways to do things: cheat versions and bulk cooking meals to freeze. As I am a sucker for cheesecakes, this cheats version is really easy.

Homemade cheats lemon cheesecake
Homemade cheats lemon cheesecake

Ingedients (makes four):

  • Digestive biscuits – 100g
  • Butter – 20g
  • Soft full fat cheese – 180g (room temperature)
  • 2 tbsp of icing sugar
  • 4 tbsp of lemon curd

Method:

  1. Either blitz the biscuits in food processor or, as I did, put them in a plastic bag a bash with a rolling pin until you get as fine a crumbs as possible. (The best way I found is to roll over one way and then the other. This gives a nice fine crumb.)
  2. Melt the butter in a small pan on a low heat. Add the biscuit crumbs and mix together thoroughly.
  3. Divide the biscuit base between four ramekins, press down and refrigerate.
  4. Mix the cream cheese and icing together thoroughly and add the lemon curd. Mix well.
  5. Spoon this on the biscuit base and level. Refrigerate for four hours or overnight.

As I said this is really easy, and very delish. You don’t need expensive ingredients to make it. I used supermarket basic range biscuits and soft cheese, and supermarket brand lemon curd. This means they cost approximately 15p each to make.

 

