A Little Bit of History

A Nostalgic Look At Paying the Rates

I recently acquired lots of vintage women’s magazines dating from 1943-1952. It’s been great fun reading them. I love the articles, readers letters and patterns. The adverts are the most interesting. This article particularly caught my attention. It’s a light read by Marian Conway, about the different ways she’s raised money to pay the rates (does anyone still remember the rates office?) It really made me smile, so I thought I would share it. It’s from August 1948. I hope you enjoy it.

(By the way, the watermark ‘A Housewife’s Work’ is my other blog which can be found here.)

To Pay The Rates by Marian Conway
To Pay The Rates by Marian Conway
To Pay The Rates by Marian Conway
To Pay The Rates by Marian Conway
One thought on “A Nostalgic Look At Paying the Rates

Comments are closed.