CFS/ME & Fibro

Next Year I Will Remember

I was going to write a post reviewing the past year and the things that I did. Then I realised something… I don’t remember. One of the achingly annoying symptoms that have corrupted my brain is having such a bad memory. I used to have a brilliant memory. Words and names is the worst, although events and conversation seems to be catching up. One thing I do know is that it has definitely got worse this year. I know I went out a few days this year (I’ve basically been housebound), that we have a new member of the family in the shape of a little boy and that for about the last few months I’ve stayed in bed. Other than that – zilch. I know that I have done things, but they seem so far away, in that it’s become difficult to judge time. Without a regular routine, like going to work, days just melt into each other and have nothing to define them. Nothing that I do needs a timetable.

So, using my Facebook account and this blog, I’ve reminded myself of some of the things that I’ve done.

February: I made sugar mice, jam flapjacks and soup in my new soup maker.

May: I made some lemon curd

June: I went to an Open Farm Sunday event

July: I got some free sewing, knitting and crochet patterns via Freecycle

August: I did some knitting

September: I made my own washing powder

So despite everything, my year has had some productivity, although I really can’t recall any other detail.

My plan for the new year is to keep a diary with short notes from every day. (This will mean remembering to do it, mind.) I’ve already got a five year diary for the purpose. It’s not just for everyday occurrences but also to log my general health too. So hopefully, when I come to review 2015, it won’t be so bad.

DSC_0013 (2)

In the manner of the Oscars, I want to take this opportunity to thank my Mum and Dad for being there for me, and for being as understanding as they can with this complicated illness. Also to my Mum, for letting me publish her recollections on my other blog A Housewife’s Work.

 

One thought on “Next Year I Will Remember

  1. You have succeeded in your determination in not allowing yourself to be defeated by your illness. You have achieved so much since coming to terms with the Fibromyalgia and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. We hope you do well in the coming year with your interesting write-ups. Using a well known phrase “keep ’em coming”.

Comments are closed.